At the meeting of the Young Liberal Movement of Australia’s Federal Council, Michael Heydon (Western Australia) was elected as our Movement’s 46th Federal President alongside Clark Cooley (Tasmania) as Federal Vice-President.

At the Federal Council, Heydon and Cooley were elected on a clear platform to:

  • Upskill members and ramping up the Young Liberals campaign resources in anticipation of a critical Federal Election
  • Engage on the ground and remote campaigning for the Western Australian State election in March
  • Refresh the Young Liberals online presence to assist in attracting and retaining the next generation of conservative leaders
  • Continue to be a vocal advocate for Young Liberal values and our membership to government, members of parliament, the wider Liberal Party and the general public

Mr. Heydon said “It’s a privilege to serve as President of Australia’s most influential and active youth political movement.”

“The Young Liberal Movement has a proud tradition of advocating for our values within the Liberal Party and in public and I look forward to working with the new Federal Executive to do so.”

“Young Liberals will play a critical role in the upcoming Western Australian State election in March, and the next Federal Election.”

Former Federal Presidents and Vice-Presidents of the Young Liberal Movement of Australia include Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator the Hon Marise Payne; former Attorney-General the Hon Philip Ruddock AO; Minister for International Development and the Pacific, the Hon Alex Hawke MP; Senator Claire Chandler, and Federal MPs Jason Falinksi and Trent Zimmerman

At their Executive meeting on 26 March 2020, the Federal Executive of the Young Liberal Movement of Australia formally adopted the Liberal Party of Australia's National Code of Conduct and Complaints and Dispute Resolution Policy. These documents were formally adopted by the Federal Executive of the Liberal Party of Australia in 2019 after extensive consultation and the Young Liberals are pleased to support their operation amongst the Party membership. 

The National Code of Conduct is available here:

The Complaints and Dispute Resolution Policy is available here:

At the weekend's meeting of the Young Liberal Movement's Federal Council, Jocelyn Sutcliffe was elected as our Movement's 45th Federal President alongside Alexander Lisov as Federal Vice-President.

At Federal Council, Jocelyn and Alex were elected on a clear platform to:

  1. Give the strongest possible support to the Queensland and ACT divisions in their crucial state and territory elections;
  2. Host a targeted Campaign Workshop Series alongside the Party's 2020 meeting of Federal Council; and
  3. Level up our Movement's policy advocacy via a range of submissions to government and a new Policy Blog.



The Federal Liberal Government has just announced that it will commission a review of freedom of speech, to be conducted by former High Court chief justice Robert French, at universities following the countless examples of the oppressive left shutting down debate and centre-right thought on campus.

Read more ...

At the Liberal Party's Federal Council, a number of key policy motions put forward by our Movement were passed. This again highlights that we are making the case, leading the charge and delivering results.

Read more ...

At the Liberal Party's 2018 Federal Council, Federal Young Liberal President Josh Manuatu successfully moved:

This Federal Council calls on the Federal Government to relocate the Australian embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem and to suspend aid to the Palestinian Authority until it terminates its ‘Martyrs’ Fund.

The motion was passed 44 votes to 37.

WATCH Federal President Josh Manuatu's speech here: