Former Federal Young Liberal President Claire Chandler has been preselected as the Number 2 Tasmanian Liberal Senate Candidate for the next election.

Claire has been a tremendous contributor to the Liberal Party for many years, including serving as the Federal Young Liberal President just two years ago.

If elected, Claire will join other former Federal Presidents in the Federal Parliament including Marise Payne, Alex Hawke, Jason Falinksi and Trent Zimmerman. 

The evidence from right around is clear - those Parliamentarians who came through our Movement are more willing to stand up for our Liberal values. Indeed, more than 40% of the Federal Cabinet are former Young Liberals which again shows that the Young Liberal Movement is the preeminent training ground for centre-right political leaders.

Congratulations, Claire!